All comparisons

Small-business payment processors, compared

Small-business payment processors compared by in-person, online and invoice rates, monthly fees, reader and terminal prices, payout speed, dispute fees, holds and reserves, and contract terms. Every rate says what it covers.

8 options compared · checked · Markdown · JSON

What do you need?

Options

Clover

Online

Point-of-sale systems and card readers sold with a software plan, with plans and rates that differ by business type. Devices can be bought outright or taken on a 36-month subscription.

Our read Businesses that want a countertop or handheld point-of-sale system and will read the plan and contract terms for their business type.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Sending invoices or payment links
In-person card rate
2.6% + 10¢ per card tapped, swiped or inserted on the Basic retail system (Starter software plan); 2.3% + 10¢ on the Standard and Advanced retail systems. On Home & field services, 2.5% + 10¢ on Standard (Go reader) and 2.3% + 10¢ on Advanced. Flat-rate pairs by plan; Clover says all cards, including American Express and rewards cards, pay the same rate. Page undated. It is a JavaScript page, so it was read in the built-in browser. Clover's pricing hub says 'Pay as little as 2.3% + 10¢ per transaction' and 'Prices shown are only available on Clover.com'. The Personal services page shows 2.6% + 10¢ (Basic) and 2.3% + 10¢ (Standard, Advanced). The Professional services plans (Starter, Essentials, Services Growth) list in-person card acceptance as 'Not Included' because they include no reader. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
3.5% + 10¢ per typed-in (card-not-present) transaction on every plan read. Clover's FAQ says the typed-in rate applies where the card is not present, 'like an online sale or phone order' (flat-rate pair). From the FAQ 'What are the monthly fees and credit card processing rates?', which says rates come in pairs, an in-person fee and a slightly higher typed-in fee. A separate online-checkout rate is not listed on the pages read. The Basic retail plan lists a new online store only as an 'Optional add-on'. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
3.5% + 10¢ per card-information-typed-in transaction (keyed in on a Clover device, the dashboard or the Clover Go app). A separate rate for invoice payments is not listed. The Professional services plans list itemized invoices by email or SMS, online client payment and recurring payments as 'Included' in Starter. The retail and Home & field pages show the same 3.5% + 10¢ typed-in rate. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

Clover's pages do not give a dispute fee amount or a separate online-checkout rate, and its FAQ says contract terms and termination fees vary by the service provider that sells the system. The pricing pages are undated and say prices are 'only available on Clover.com'. The restaurant pricing pages were not read.

Helcim

Online

Card processing priced as interchange plus a margin that falls across five monthly-volume tiers, with a card reader, a smart terminal, a virtual terminal, online invoicing and payment pages. Helcim states no monthly, setup, PCI or cancellation fees.

Our read Businesses that want the card networks' cost passed through with a stated margin and are comfortable with interchange-plus pricing.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Taking payments online
  • Sending invoices or payment links
  • Keeping fees simple and low
In-person card rate
Interchange plus 0.40% + 8¢ per in-person (card-present) transaction at $0 to $50,000 monthly card volume, falling to interchange plus 0.15% + 6¢ above $1,000,000 a month (interchange-plus pricing, five volume tiers). Fee disclosure shows 'Last Updated February 2, 2026, with effect from April 1, 2026'. Middle tiers: $50,001-$100,000 interchange plus 0.35% + 7¢; $100,001-$500,000 0.25% + 7¢; $500,001-$1,000,000 0.20% + 6¢. Tier is set by a 3-month rolling average of card volume. International cards add network fees such as Visa +1.45% + 4¢. Tap to Pay on iPhone adds 10¢ per approved transaction. Helcim says most merchants' total in-person effective rate is 'near or below 2%' (Helcim's own statement, not tested). Helcim's pages were blocked to curl and read in the built-in browser. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
Interchange plus 0.50% + 25¢ per keyed or online (card-not-present) transaction at $0 to $50,000 monthly card volume, falling to interchange plus 0.15% + 15¢ above $1,000,000 a month (interchange-plus pricing, five volume tiers). Middle tiers: $50,001-$100,000 interchange plus 0.45% + 20¢; $100,001-$500,000 0.35% + 20¢; $500,001-$1,000,000 0.25% + 15¢. The disclosure defines card-not-present as payments entered in the Virtual Terminal, Card Vault and Ecommerce portals. Helcim says keyed and online effective rates are 'below 2.5%' for most merchants (its own statement, not tested). Recurring payments add 0.4% per transaction. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
Interchange plus 0.50% + 25¢ per keyed (card-not-present) transaction at $0 to $50,000 monthly card volume, on the same tier table as online. Bank (ACH) payments 0.5% + 25¢ per approved transaction, capped at $6 below $25,000 (0.05% on any amount above $25,000). A rate specific to invoice payments is not listed; the disclosure covers manually entered card payments and ACH. Rejected, returned or NSF bank payments cost $5 per transaction. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

Helcim's pages give its margin but not the interchange cost itself, which changes by card, and do not list a rate for invoice payments. Its terms say it may hold funds or require a reserve for any reason related to your use of the services. The Terms of Service were last updated June 30, 2025.

Payment Depot

Online

Interchange-plus card processing with 0% markup on interchange and flat fees of $0.08 per card-present and $0.15 per card-not-present transaction, with terminals sold on its equipment page. The monthly subscription price is quote-only.

Our read Businesses that want interchange passed through with flat per-transaction fees and are prepared to ask for a quote on the monthly fee.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Taking payments online
  • Sending invoices or payment links
In-person card rate
0% markup on interchange + $0.08 per card-present transaction (swiped, dipped or tapped; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). Page undated; footer shows 2026. The page also says 'Variable rates as low as 0.2% - 1.95%' without defining it. Interchange itself varies by card and is not given as a single number. Curl returned 403, so the page was read in the built-in browser. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per card-not-present transaction (keyed-in or online; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). The page calls this 'A flat fee for keyed-in or online payments'. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per keyed-in (card-not-present) transaction. Bank (ACH) payments 1% per transaction, capped at $10. Customized invoicing is listed as a subscription feature, but a rate specific to invoice payments is not given. ACH is listed as an optional add-on. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

The pricing page shows 'Request a quote' instead of a monthly price, does not explain 'Variable rates as low as 0.2% - 1.95%', and gives no dispute fee, hold or reserve terms. Its homepage describes interchange plus as 'a fixed percentage markup', while the pricing page says '0% markup on interchange'. The pricing page uses the same fee wording as Stax's pricing page.

PayPal

Online

PayPal's business account takes cards, PayPal, Venmo and Pay Later online, by invoice and payment link, and in person with a card reader, terminal or Tap to Pay on the PayPal app. PayPal Zettle is now called PayPal Point of Sale.

Our read Businesses whose customers already pay with PayPal or Venmo and that want one account for online, invoice and in-person sales.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Taking payments online
  • Sending invoices or payment links
  • Keeping fees simple and low
In-person card rate
2.29% + $0.09 per card-present transaction (PayPal Point of Sale: card reader, terminal and Tap to Pay on the PayPal app; flat rate). QR code payments are also 2.29% + $0.09. The fee page at https://www.paypal.com/us/business/paypal-business-fees shows 'Last Updated: October 1, 2026'. Its 'PayPal Point of Sale Rates' table lists 'Card Present Transactions 2.29% + 0.09 USD'. Curl and WebFetch both read the pricing page. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
2.99% + $0.49 per card payment through PayPal Checkout (standard credit and debit cards); 2.89% + $0.29 per card payment through Expanded Checkout (flat rate). PayPal and Venmo payments 3.49% + $0.49; Pay Later 4.99% + $0.49. PayPal says with Expanded Checkout you 'handle refunds, chargebacks for unauthorized transactions, and compliance reporting', which is why that rate is lower. International sales add 1.50%. 'Custom rates and interchange plus pricing are available for established businesses that process a large volume of payments annually.' Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
Invoices: 2.99% + $0.49 per card or Apple Pay payment; 3.49% + $0.49 per PayPal or Venmo payment; Pay by Bank (ACH) 1% capped at $10 per transaction. Keyed in person: 3.49% + $0.09. Virtual Terminal: 3.39% + $0.29 per transaction (flat rate). From the Invoicing, Point of Sale and Online Payment Services tables on the fee page. Payment links share the invoice rates (2.99% + $0.49 for cards, 3.49% + $0.49 for PayPal, Venmo or Pay Later offers). Fee page shows 'Last Updated: October 1, 2026'. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

PayPal's fee page does not give a time for a standard bank transfer, and its rates differ by checkout option and payment method. PayPal says holds and reserves rest on its 'sole discretion' and confidential criteria, and a reserve can hold a percentage of each sale for a set period.

Shopify Payments

Online

Shopify's card processing for Shopify stores, sold through a Shopify plan, with online and in-person card rates that fall on higher plans. In-person selling is included in plans, with a POS Pro add-on and hardware sold separately.

Our read Sellers who run, or plan to run, a Shopify store and want card rates tied to their Shopify plan for online and in-person sales.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Taking payments online
In-person card rate
2.6% + 10¢ per in-person card transaction on Basic; 2.5% + 10¢ on Grow; 2.4% + 10¢ on Advanced; 2.3% + 10¢ on Plus (Shopify Payments, US; flat rate set by Shopify plan). Page undated; it shows 'Fall '26 Edition'. The pricing page shows plan prices with a 'Pay yearly' toggle on. Rates from the comparison table's 'In-person card rates' row. Curl and WebFetch agree. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
2.9% + 30¢ per online standard card transaction on Basic; 2.7% + 30¢ on Grow; 2.5% + 30¢ on Advanced; 2.25% + 30¢ on Plus. Online premium cards 3.5% + 30¢ (Basic) down to 2.95% + 30¢ (Plus); international +1% (flat rate set by Shopify plan). A 2%, 1%, 0.6% or 0.2% third-party transaction fee (by plan, Basic to Plus) applies if you use another payment provider instead of Shopify Payments. PayPal wallet payments start at 3.49% + 49¢. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
In-person manual (keyed) card entry: 3.5% + 10¢ per transaction on Basic, Grow and Advanced; 3.4% + 10¢ on Plus (flat rate by Shopify plan). A rate for invoices or payment links is not listed. The 'In-person manual rates' row is the closest published keyed rate. The pricing page does not list invoices or payment links. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

Shopify's pages read do not list a rate for invoices or payment links, or a tap-and-chip reader price. Shopify Payments is available only in certain countries and works with a Shopify plan. Shopify's chargeback pages differ on whether a won chargeback returns the fee in every country.

Square

Online

Square sells a point-of-sale app, readers, invoices and online selling on three plans, Square Free, Plus and Premium, which set the card rates. Square Free has no monthly fee.

Our read Businesses that want one set of tools for in-person, online and invoice sales and a no-monthly-fee plan to start on.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Taking payments online
  • Sending invoices or payment links
  • Keeping fees simple and low
In-person card rate
2.6% + 15¢ per tapped, dipped or swiped card on Square Free; 2.5% + 15¢ on Square Plus; 2.4% + 15¢ on Square Premium (flat rate by plan; the same rate for every major card brand). Page undated; footer shows '© 2026 Block, Inc.'. The fee help article (https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/5068-what-are-square-s-fees) gives the same figures. WebFetch of the pricing page returned a truncated page with no rates, so the figures come from the page markup, the browser pane and the help article. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
3.3% + 30¢ per online card payment on Square Free; 2.9% + 30¢ on Square Plus and Square Premium (flat rate by plan; also applies to invoice payments). Online API payments 2.9% + 30¢ on every plan. Cards issued outside the US add 1.5% on every plan, per the help article. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
Invoices paid by card use the online rate (3.3% + 30¢ on Square Free; 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium). ACH bank transfer by invoice 1%, $1 minimum (with a $10 fee cap on Plus and Premium). Manual entry or card on file 3.5% + 15¢ per transaction on every plan. The table row reads 'Applies to card payments made online or through an invoice'. The help article adds '$0 fees for ACH transactions deposited into Square Checking' on every plan. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

Square's pages show no rate for Square Pro, which is custom for sellers processing over $250,000 a year, and say a reserve's terms appear only in your Reserve Dashboard. Standard payouts are given only as 'next business day'. The pricing pages are undated, and the FAQ says existing sellers' pricing may change.

Stax

Online

Subscription-priced card processing with 0% markup on interchange and flat per-transaction fees, starting at $99 a month by yearly volume. Terminals are sold on its equipment page, and invoicing, payment links and Text2Pay come with the subscription.

Our read Businesses with steady card volume that prefer a monthly subscription with interchange passed through over a percentage markup on each sale.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Taking payments online
  • Sending invoices or payment links
In-person card rate
0% markup on interchange + $0.08 per card-present transaction (swiped, dipped or tapped; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). Page undated; footer shows 2026. Interchange itself varies by card and is not given as one number. WebFetch and curl agree. The page also shows card-surcharging options: credit surcharge '0% paid by merchant', and a merchant debit surcharge of 1.25% + $0.25 per transaction. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per card-not-present transaction (keyed-in or online; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). The page calls this 'A flat fee for keyed-in or online payments'. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per keyed-in (card-not-present) transaction. Bank (ACH) payments 1% per transaction, capped at $10. Customized invoicing is listed as a subscription feature; a rate specific to invoice payments is not given. ACH is an optional add-on. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

Stax's pages do not give a dispute fee amount, hold or reserve terms, or the interchange rate you will pay, which varies by card. The top subscription tier shows only '$199+'. Blog posts on its site give chargeback-fee ranges that conflict, so none is used.

Stripe

Online

Stripe sells online payments, Payment Links, Invoicing and in-person Terminal readers on one pay-as-you-go standard price, with no setup or monthly fees. Custom interchange-plus pricing is offered to larger businesses.

Our read Businesses that want one provider for online checkout, payment links, invoices and card readers with published per-transaction pricing, and are comfortable setting it up through a dashboard or code.

  • Taking cards in person
  • Taking payments online
  • Sending invoices or payment links
  • Keeping fees simple and low
In-person card rate
2.7% + 5¢ per successful in-person transaction for domestic cards (Stripe Terminal, standard pricing). Add 1.5% for international cards and $0.10 per authorization for Tap to Pay (flat rate). Page undated; footer shows '© 2026 Stripe, LLC'. Optional point-to-point encryption adds $0.05 per authorization. 'Custom pricing', with interchange-plus and volume discounts, is offered to businesses with large volume. Curl and WebFetch agree. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Online card rate
2.9% + 30¢ per successful transaction for domestic cards (Payments, Checkout and Payment Links, standard pricing). Add 0.5% for manually entered cards, 1.5% for international cards and 1% if currency conversion is needed (flat rate). Buy-now-pay-later Klarna payments are 5.99% + 30¢ per transaction. ACH Direct Debit is 0.8% with a $5.00 cap. Accepting payments on Payment Links and Checkout is 'Included at no additional charge' on standard pricing. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Invoice or keyed-in card rate
Invoicing Starter 0.4% per paid invoice (Invoicing Plus 0.5%), on top of Stripe Payments fees; post-payment invoices 0.4% of the transaction total, capped at $2.00 per invoice. Manually entered cards add 0.5% to the online rate (flat rate). The Invoicing page says it 'has no fixed fees or setup costs, but Stripe Payments pricing will apply'. The $2.00 cap is on the main pricing page. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
What isn't clear from public sources

Stripe's pages say a new account's first payout typically takes 7-14 days and that reserve terms are set per account. They add extra percentages for international cards, manually entered cards and currency conversion on top of the headline rate. The pricing page is undated.

Side by side

Full comparison table

Small-business payment processors, compared: every option, with each fact's status and checked date
Name In-person card rateOnline card rateInvoice or keyed-in card rateMonthly feesReaders and terminalsPayout speedChargeback or dispute feeHolds, reserves and account reviewContract and cancellationWays to take payment
Clover 2.6% + 10¢ per card tapped, swiped or inserted on the Basic retail system (Starter software plan); 2.3% + 10¢ on the Standard and Advanced retail systems. On Home & field services, 2.5% + 10¢ on Standard (Go reader) and 2.3% + 10¢ on Advanced. Flat-rate pairs by plan; Clover says all cards, including American Express and rewards cards, pay the same rate. Page undated. It is a JavaScript page, so it was read in the built-in browser. Clover's pricing hub says 'Pay as little as 2.3% + 10¢ per transaction' and 'Prices shown are only available on Clover.com'. The Personal services page shows 2.6% + 10¢ (Basic) and 2.3% + 10¢ (Standard, Advanced). The Professional services plans (Starter, Essentials, Services Growth) list in-person card acceptance as 'Not Included' because they include no reader. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 3.5% + 10¢ per typed-in (card-not-present) transaction on every plan read. Clover's FAQ says the typed-in rate applies where the card is not present, 'like an online sale or phone order' (flat-rate pair). From the FAQ 'What are the monthly fees and credit card processing rates?', which says rates come in pairs, an in-person fee and a slightly higher typed-in fee. A separate online-checkout rate is not listed on the pages read. The Basic retail plan lists a new online store only as an 'Optional add-on'. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 3.5% + 10¢ per card-information-typed-in transaction (keyed in on a Clover device, the dashboard or the Clover Go app). A separate rate for invoice payments is not listed. The Professional services plans list itemized invoices by email or SMS, online client payment and recurring payments as 'Included' in Starter. The retail and Home & field pages show the same 3.5% + 10¢ typed-in rate. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Software plan fee depends on business type. Professional services: Starter $0 per month, Essentials $29.95 per month, Services Growth $84.95 per month (no-hardware plans). Retail systems: Basic $16 per month for 36 months or $349 once (Compact, Starter software plan); Standard $180 per month for 36 months, or $1,899 once + $84.95 per month; Advanced $240 per month for 36 months, or $2,648 once + $104.90 per month. Home & field services: Starter $0 + $29.95 per month; Standard $199 once + $29.95 per month; Advanced $125 per month for 36 months, or $749 once + $84.95 per month. Prices copied as shown on each business-type page on 2026-11-01. The pages do not explain what the 'or' price includes beyond the device and software plan named. The FAQ says a Clover subscription 'includes a warranty and easy upgrade options' and that 'Payment processing fees are not included'. A '$450 statement credit when you buy Station, Mini or Flex' offer was shown and is not counted in any price. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Clover Go handheld card reader $199. Compact $349 or $16 per month for 36 months; Flex Pocket $699 or $35 per month; Flex $749 or $40 per month; Mini $849 or $45 per month; Station Solo $1,799 or $174 per month; Station Duo $1,899 or $180 per month (all 36-month subscriptions). Kiosk is 'Contact sales'; Kitchen Display 24 inch $899 or 14 inch $799, each + $25 per month per device. Page says 'Prices shown are only available on Clover.com'. Read in the built-in browser. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Clover says deposits 'are typically funded within 1-3 business days after the batch closes'. Its FAQ says 'many businesses will see their funds deposited the next business day', depending on your bank. Rapid Deposit sends funds to a linked debit card within 30 minutes for a 1.75% fee on the amount you transfer. The FAQ is at https://www.clover.com/resources/faqs and the Rapid Deposit steps are at https://www.clover.com/en-US/help/get-a-rapid-deposit. The 1.75% fee is on the pricing pages. All pages undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Not publicly stated Clover's help article on responding to disputes says a won dispute is credited 'minus the fee for processing the dispute' but gives no amount. Its FAQ says contract terms and fees vary by service provider. Clover's Rapid Deposit help page says funding can be delayed or partly withheld. One listed cause is a minimum reserve: funding 'is on time, but is withholding a portion of the batch and then releasing it later because your account needs to maintain a minimum reserve amount'. Any delay of one day or more makes an account ineligible for Rapid Deposit. A dispute you do not answer loses the money. The page names Fiserv as the funding party and says to contact Clover support for help. The dispute wording is from https://www.clover.com/en-US/help/respond-to-a-dispute-or-transaction-inquiry. Both pages undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Clover says subscriptions 'are non-cancelable and ineligible for refunds', though a subscription can be broken in a buyout or upgrade and can be paid off at any time. Subscriptions on the pricing pages run 36 months. At the end of the term you can buy or return the equipment; otherwise the term extends at the same monthly charge, and you must tell Clover at least 30 days before the end. Contract terms and any termination fees 'can vary based on your service provider'. From the FAQ answers on the pricing hub. The providers named there are Clover Direct, Citi, PNC, Wells Fargo and 3,000+ other financial-institution partners. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 In-person point-of-sale devices and the Clover Go reader; typed-in payments on a device, the web dashboard or the Clover Go app; Virtual Terminal for taking payments without a device; invoices and recurring invoices (listed on plans); mobile wallets, PayPal and Venmo, cash or check. A new online store is an optional add-on on the Basic retail plan. Virtual Terminal is described in the pricing FAQ. Which plans include which channel varies by business type and is shown on each business-type page. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Helcim Interchange plus 0.40% + 8¢ per in-person (card-present) transaction at $0 to $50,000 monthly card volume, falling to interchange plus 0.15% + 6¢ above $1,000,000 a month (interchange-plus pricing, five volume tiers). Fee disclosure shows 'Last Updated February 2, 2026, with effect from April 1, 2026'. Middle tiers: $50,001-$100,000 interchange plus 0.35% + 7¢; $100,001-$500,000 0.25% + 7¢; $500,001-$1,000,000 0.20% + 6¢. Tier is set by a 3-month rolling average of card volume. International cards add network fees such as Visa +1.45% + 4¢. Tap to Pay on iPhone adds 10¢ per approved transaction. Helcim says most merchants' total in-person effective rate is 'near or below 2%' (Helcim's own statement, not tested). Helcim's pages were blocked to curl and read in the built-in browser. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Interchange plus 0.50% + 25¢ per keyed or online (card-not-present) transaction at $0 to $50,000 monthly card volume, falling to interchange plus 0.15% + 15¢ above $1,000,000 a month (interchange-plus pricing, five volume tiers). Middle tiers: $50,001-$100,000 interchange plus 0.45% + 20¢; $100,001-$500,000 0.35% + 20¢; $500,001-$1,000,000 0.25% + 15¢. The disclosure defines card-not-present as payments entered in the Virtual Terminal, Card Vault and Ecommerce portals. Helcim says keyed and online effective rates are 'below 2.5%' for most merchants (its own statement, not tested). Recurring payments add 0.4% per transaction. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Interchange plus 0.50% + 25¢ per keyed (card-not-present) transaction at $0 to $50,000 monthly card volume, on the same tier table as online. Bank (ACH) payments 0.5% + 25¢ per approved transaction, capped at $6 below $25,000 (0.05% on any amount above $25,000). A rate specific to invoice payments is not listed; the disclosure covers manually entered card payments and ACH. Rejected, returned or NSF bank payments cost $5 per transaction. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 None for the account. Helcim lists '$0 No account monthly fees', no minimums, software fees or statement fees, $0 PCI fees and $0 signup fees. Optional: recurring payments +0.4% per transaction; 4G data on hardware $7 per month; Smart Terminal on a 1-year plan $32 per month. Page undated; footer shows 'Copyright 2007 – 2026 Helcim Inc.'. The FAQ also says there are no annual, statement, monthly-minimum or setup fees. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Helcim Card Reader $199 per unit + shipping (works with iOS, Android, macOS and Windows). Helcim Smart Terminal $349 per unit + shipping, or $32 per month for 1 year (12 payments of $32). Tap to Pay on iPhone needs no extra hardware and adds 10¢ per approved transaction. Optional 4G data $7 per month. The fee disclosure at https://legal.helcim.com/us/fee-disclosures/ lists the same equipment prices 'plus applicable taxes'. Helcim says it does not lease equipment. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Helcim states 'Next-business-morning deposits on credit card and debit transactions' at no charge, and says you can choose gross deposits (fees billed as a separate line the same day) or net deposits. A marketing statement on the pricing page; the gross and net options are from its FAQ on funding options. The help centre's deposit article was not opened. Provider claim · Nov 1, 2026 $15 per chargeback you lose; $0 for chargebacks resolved in your favor (the fee is refunded) (Helcim, US). The fee disclosure words it as '$15 USD or $0 per occurrence. Chargebacks that are resolved in your favor will have their fee fully refunded back to you.' Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Helcim's Terms of Service say it 'may withhold funds by temporarily suspending or delaying payouts' and may require a Reserve 'for any reason related to your use of the Services'. The Reserve 'may be raised, reduced or removed at any time by Helcim, in its sole discretion'. After termination a reserve can be kept for at least six months. Its help centre says it reviews accounts, most often after your first few payment batches. Terms show 'Last Updated: June 30, 2025 with effect from July 31, 2025'. The review article is at https://learn.helcim.com/docs/account-review-reasons and is undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Helcim states 'No contracts, leases, termination fees or cancellation fees' and '$0 No cancellation fee'. Equipment is bought, not leased. The pricing FAQ on equipment leasing says 'Helcim has no contracts or cancellation fees'. Merchant Terms of Service still apply. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Virtual Terminal, Card Vault, Online Invoicing, Payment Pages (payment links), Online Checkout (no-code store), Recurring Payments, Point-of-Sale, Payment Request by email or SMS, Reporting, APIs and software integrations. The list is Helcim's own 'All the tools you need, no monthly fees' section. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Payment Depot 0% markup on interchange + $0.08 per card-present transaction (swiped, dipped or tapped; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). Page undated; footer shows 2026. The page also says 'Variable rates as low as 0.2% - 1.95%' without defining it. Interchange itself varies by card and is not given as a single number. Curl returned 403, so the page was read in the built-in browser. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per card-not-present transaction (keyed-in or online; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). The page calls this 'A flat fee for keyed-in or online payments'. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per keyed-in (card-not-present) transaction. Bank (ACH) payments 1% per transaction, capped at $10. Customized invoicing is listed as a subscription feature, but a rate specific to invoice payments is not given. ACH is listed as an optional add-on. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Not publicly stated The pricing page shows 'Request a quote' and no subscription price. It lists an optional terminal protection plan at $19 per month and says subscriptions 'unlock all these features at no extra cost'. Dejavoo QD2 mobile wireless terminal $495 per unit; Dejavoo QD4 countertop terminal $310 per unit; ID Tech VP3350 mobile card reader $125 per unit; SwipeSimple B350 reader $125 per unit. Dejavoo D1 cloud register: price not listed. Optional terminal protection plan $19 per month. Read in the built-in browser. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Payment Depot states 'Next business day funding', listed with its subscription features. A one-line feature statement with no conditions given on the page. Provider claim · Nov 1, 2026 Not publicly stated No chargeback or dispute fee amount appears on the pages read. Not publicly stated The pages read say nothing about holds, reserves or account review. Merchant agreement terms were not found on the public site. Payment Depot lists 'No cancellation fees (long term contracts)' with its subscription features. The optional terminal protection plan 'can be canceled at any time for any reason' (terms apply). The pricing page also says 'No cancellation fees, plus unlimited access to our all-in-one software'. A minimum term is not stated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 In-person terminals; online hosted payment pages, payment links, buttons and QR codes; Text2Pay mobile payments; mobile app for keyed, swiped or tapped payments; customized invoicing by email or text; recurring billing; API key integration; ACH. From the homepage's omni-channel section and the pricing page's feature list. Pages undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
PayPal 2.29% + $0.09 per card-present transaction (PayPal Point of Sale: card reader, terminal and Tap to Pay on the PayPal app; flat rate). QR code payments are also 2.29% + $0.09. The fee page at https://www.paypal.com/us/business/paypal-business-fees shows 'Last Updated: October 1, 2026'. Its 'PayPal Point of Sale Rates' table lists 'Card Present Transactions 2.29% + 0.09 USD'. Curl and WebFetch both read the pricing page. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 2.99% + $0.49 per card payment through PayPal Checkout (standard credit and debit cards); 2.89% + $0.29 per card payment through Expanded Checkout (flat rate). PayPal and Venmo payments 3.49% + $0.49; Pay Later 4.99% + $0.49. PayPal says with Expanded Checkout you 'handle refunds, chargebacks for unauthorized transactions, and compliance reporting', which is why that rate is lower. International sales add 1.50%. 'Custom rates and interchange plus pricing are available for established businesses that process a large volume of payments annually.' Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Invoices: 2.99% + $0.49 per card or Apple Pay payment; 3.49% + $0.49 per PayPal or Venmo payment; Pay by Bank (ACH) 1% capped at $10 per transaction. Keyed in person: 3.49% + $0.09. Virtual Terminal: 3.39% + $0.29 per transaction (flat rate). From the Invoicing, Point of Sale and Online Payment Services tables on the fee page. Payment links share the invoice rates (2.99% + $0.49 for cards, 3.49% + $0.49 for PayPal, Venmo or Pay Later offers). Fee page shows 'Last Updated: October 1, 2026'. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 PayPal's Point of Sale page states 'No long-term commitments. No monthly fees.' and 'no monthly fees, startup fees, or long-term commitments'. Optional add-ons carry monthly fees, for example Payflow Pro $25.00 per month, Account Monitoring Service $19.95 per month and Fraud Protection Advanced $10.00 per month. The online pricing page mentions no monthly fee. Add-on fees are from the 'Other Merchant Fees' section of https://www.paypal.com/us/business/paypal-business-fees. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Card Reader $29 'for your first card reader'; Terminal $199 'for terminal only'; Tap to Pay $0 with the PayPal app (plus card-present rates). Prices for extra readers are not stated. The Point of Sale page confirms the Card Reader and Terminal and says its zettle.com address now leads to PayPal Point of Sale. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 PayPal says card sales 'settle directly into your PayPal business account'. Moving money from the balance to a linked bank account or debit card: standard transfer no fee (when no currency conversion is involved); instant transfer 1.50% of the amount, minimum fee $0.50. How long a standard transfer takes is not stated on the fee page. Withdrawal fees are from the 'Withdrawal Out of PayPal' table; the settle statement is from https://www.paypal.com/us/business/pos-system. Instant transfers are limited to $25,000 per transaction to a bank. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 $20.00 per chargeback on card payments that do not go through a buyer's PayPal account or guest checkout; $15.00 standard dispute fee when a buyer disputes a payment made through their PayPal account or a PayPal checkout solution (US dollars). From the 'Chargeback Fees' and 'Dispute Fees' tables. PayPal also lists a separate High Volume Dispute fee schedule, which was not read in detail. Fee page shows 'Last Updated: October 1, 2026'. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 PayPal's User Agreement says it may hold payments 'in its sole discretion' for new sellers, higher-risk categories or sellers with many disputes; risk-based holds 'generally remain in place for up to 21 days' and can reach 180 days if a payment is challenged. It may also place a rolling reserve (for example 10% held for 90 days) or a minimum reserve on a business account, with notice. Agreement shows 'Last updated on September 14, 2026'. PayPal says its decisions may rest on confidential criteria and that it has no duty to disclose its risk procedures. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 'No long-term commitments' on the Point of Sale page. The User Agreement says you 'may close your PayPal account and terminate your relationship with us at any time without cost', though you stay liable for obligations that arose before closing. Agreement shows 'Last updated on September 14, 2026'. The 'no long-term commitments' wording is from https://www.paypal.com/us/business/pos-system. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Online checkout (PayPal, Venmo, Pay Later, cards and Apple Pay), Expanded Checkout, payment links, invoicing, point of sale (card reader, terminal, Tap to Pay), QR code payments, Virtual Terminal, recurring payments and subscriptions. From the pricing page's Online, In-Person, Invoicing and Virtual Terminal sections and the Point of Sale page's list of payment options. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Shopify Payments 2.6% + 10¢ per in-person card transaction on Basic; 2.5% + 10¢ on Grow; 2.4% + 10¢ on Advanced; 2.3% + 10¢ on Plus (Shopify Payments, US; flat rate set by Shopify plan). Page undated; it shows 'Fall '26 Edition'. The pricing page shows plan prices with a 'Pay yearly' toggle on. Rates from the comparison table's 'In-person card rates' row. Curl and WebFetch agree. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 2.9% + 30¢ per online standard card transaction on Basic; 2.7% + 30¢ on Grow; 2.5% + 30¢ on Advanced; 2.25% + 30¢ on Plus. Online premium cards 3.5% + 30¢ (Basic) down to 2.95% + 30¢ (Plus); international +1% (flat rate set by Shopify plan). A 2%, 1%, 0.6% or 0.2% third-party transaction fee (by plan, Basic to Plus) applies if you use another payment provider instead of Shopify Payments. PayPal wallet payments start at 3.49% + 49¢. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 In-person manual (keyed) card entry: 3.5% + 10¢ per transaction on Basic, Grow and Advanced; 3.4% + 10¢ on Plus (flat rate by Shopify plan). A rate for invoices or payment links is not listed. The 'In-person manual rates' row is the closest published keyed rate. The pricing page does not list invoices or payment links. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 A Shopify plan is needed: Basic $39 per month billed monthly or $29 per month billed yearly; Grow $105 or $79 per month; Advanced $399 or $299 per month; Plus from $2,300 per month on a 3-year term. Optional POS Pro $89 per month per location. Shopify says 'There are no setup fees on any of our plans.' Monthly and yearly prices are in the page markup and in WebFetch output. A 3-day free trial is followed by $1 per month for 3 months. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Shopify's hardware store lists POS Terminal $349.00, Eddy Tablet Stand $149.00, OmniLink Receipt Printer $289.00 and Engage 2D G2 Scanner $209.00. A smartphone with Tap to Pay can take payments without a reader. A price for a tap, chip and swipe card reader was not shown on the pages read. The Tap to Pay statement is from https://www.shopify.com/pos/hardware ('a smartphone and Tap to Pay might be all you need'). Hardware store page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Shopify lists the US minimum settlement time as 3 business days, with no minimum payout. You can pick a daily, weekly or monthly payout schedule. After payout, banks can take another 1-3 days. Payouts to a Shopify Balance account can arrive within 1 business day (up to 5 for new merchants). ACH direct debit can take up to 4 business days to settle. Help article undated. Settlement time also depends on risk level. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 $15 USD per chargeback (Shopify Payments, United States); the disputed amount is also withdrawn right away, and the fee is returned if you win the chargeback. The chargebacks overview at https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/payments/chargebacks says Shopify 'might refund the chargeback fee depending on your country or region'. The fee table page says the fee is returned if you win. Help articles undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Shopify says a reserve is 'a temporary hold on a portion, in some cases a full amount, of transactions processed through Shopify Payments for a specified period', communicated by email, and that reserves generally do not stop you accepting payments. A Shopify Payments account on hold cannot receive payouts until the reason is resolved, though you can keep using your store. Reasons named include standard account reviews, high-value goods reviews and creditor holds. Account-hold wording is from https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/payments/shopify-payments/payouts/account-holds. Both articles undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 No setup fees on any plan. Shopify says that if Shopify 'isn't the best commerce platform for your business, simply cancel your account'. Plus can be taken on a 1- or 3-year term, and you can cancel when the term ends. A 3-day free trial is followed by $1 per month for 3 months. From the pricing FAQ. A cancellation fee on Basic, Grow or Advanced is not mentioned. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Online store checkout, the Buy Button sales channel for outside sites, in-person selling with a phone or card reader (POS), Tap to Pay, and selling 'in AI chats'. Invoices and payment links are not described on the pricing page. The Basic plan card reads 'Sell online, in person, and in AI chats'. Shopify Payments is only one of the payment options on a Shopify store. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Square 2.6% + 15¢ per tapped, dipped or swiped card on Square Free; 2.5% + 15¢ on Square Plus; 2.4% + 15¢ on Square Premium (flat rate by plan; the same rate for every major card brand). Page undated; footer shows '© 2026 Block, Inc.'. The fee help article (https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/5068-what-are-square-s-fees) gives the same figures. WebFetch of the pricing page returned a truncated page with no rates, so the figures come from the page markup, the browser pane and the help article. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 3.3% + 30¢ per online card payment on Square Free; 2.9% + 30¢ on Square Plus and Square Premium (flat rate by plan; also applies to invoice payments). Online API payments 2.9% + 30¢ on every plan. Cards issued outside the US add 1.5% on every plan, per the help article. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Invoices paid by card use the online rate (3.3% + 30¢ on Square Free; 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium). ACH bank transfer by invoice 1%, $1 minimum (with a $10 fee cap on Plus and Premium). Manual entry or card on file 3.5% + 15¢ per transaction on every plan. The table row reads 'Applies to card payments made online or through an invoice'. The help article adds '$0 fees for ACH transactions deposited into Square Checking' on every plan. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Square Free $0 per month per location; Square Plus $49 per month per location; Square Premium $149 per month per location. Plus and Premium have a free 30-day trial. Square Pro is custom pricing for sellers processing over $250,000 a year. The pricing page says 'With Square Free, there are no monthly subscription costs'. Optional add-ons are priced separately, for example Square Payroll 'starting at $35 per month + $6 per person paid'. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Square Reader for contactless and chip $59; first Square Reader for magstripe free; Square Stand $149 or $14 per month over 12 months; Square Terminal $299 or $27 per month over 12 months; Square Handheld $399 or $37 per month over 12 months; Square Register (2nd generation) $899 or $44 per month over 24 months; Square Kiosk $1,999 including counter stand. No hardware is needed for invoices, payment links, virtual terminal or Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android. The hardware page says credit sale plans are issued by Block, Inc., with 'APR is 15%'. Hardware page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Next-business-day transfer to your bank is free: payments taken before 5 PM PT / 8 PM ET arrive the next business day, later payments by the second business day, and next-business-day transfers are not sent on Saturdays. Same-day and instant transfers cost a 1.95% fee per transfer. Square says it won't hold funds based on 'the amount, frequency, or type of transaction'. Help article undated. New sellers start with one instant transfer a day of up to $2,000. Reserves are separate from this statement. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 No fee for dispute management of chargebacks (Square says 'we cover the fee for every dispute that we work together to challenge'); the disputed amount is withheld or debited right away. The fee help article lists 'Chargebacks and Dispute management' among the things with no fee. Once the bank decides, 'the dispute outcome is final'. Help articles undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Square says it uses a 'rolling reserve' on card payments: a percentage is set aside and released on a rolling basis. Reasons it names include taking payment before delivery, industry chargeback rates, your own chargeback rate, sporadic processing activity and being new to Square. You are told by email and in your dashboard before a reserve starts. Reserves apply to card payments, not ACH, and are reviewed after a minimum of six months. Help article undated. Your terms appear in the Reserve Dashboard in the Balance section. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Square says 'No hidden fees or locked-in contracts. Cancel or switch anytime.' Its fees article lists no fee for early termination or account inactivity. The 'no early termination' line is from https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/5068-what-are-square-s-fees. A minimum term is not stated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 In-person point-of-sale app (tap, dip, swipe, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android), online site and store, invoices and recurring invoices, payment links, virtual terminal, manual entry and card on file, ACH by invoice, Afterpay, appointment booking, and API payments. The FAQ says you can take payments without hardware through 'invoicing, payment links, virtual terminal, Tap to Pay on iPhone, and Tap to Pay on Android'. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Stax 0% markup on interchange + $0.08 per card-present transaction (swiped, dipped or tapped; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). Page undated; footer shows 2026. Interchange itself varies by card and is not given as one number. WebFetch and curl agree. The page also shows card-surcharging options: credit surcharge '0% paid by merchant', and a merchant debit surcharge of 1.25% + $0.25 per transaction. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per card-not-present transaction (keyed-in or online; interchange-plus pricing, subscription fee separate). The page calls this 'A flat fee for keyed-in or online payments'. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 0% markup on interchange + $0.15 per keyed-in (card-not-present) transaction. Bank (ACH) payments 1% per transaction, capped at $10. Customized invoicing is listed as a subscription feature; a rate specific to invoice payments is not given. ACH is an optional add-on. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Subscription set by yearly processing volume: $99 per month up to $150,000 a year; $139 per month from $150,000 to $250,000; $199+ per month above $250,000. Stax says prices 'do not include cents per transaction'. Optional terminal protection plan $19 per month. The page headline is 'Starting at* $99 /month'. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Dejavoo QD2 mobile wireless terminal $495 per unit; Dejavoo QD4 countertop terminal $310 per unit; ID Tech VP3350 mobile card reader $125 per unit; SwipeSimple B350 reader $125 per unit. Dejavoo D1 cloud register: price not listed. Optional terminal protection plan $19 per month. Page undated. The WebFetch summary of the pricing page missed the equipment prices because they sit on this separate page. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Stax states 'Next business day funding', listed with its subscription features. A one-line feature statement with no conditions given on the page. Provider claim · Nov 1, 2026 Not publicly stated Stax's pricing and equipment pages give no chargeback fee. Three Stax blog posts give different general ranges for processors, and none states Stax's own fee. Not publicly stated The pricing page and support pages read say nothing about holds, reserves or account review for merchants. Stax's developer docs describe underwriting for platform partners, not these terms. Stax lists 'No cancellation fees (long term contracts)' with its subscription features. The optional terminal protection plan 'can be canceled at any time for any reason' (terms apply). A minimum term is not stated. The merchant agreement was not found on the public site. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Terminals and mobile card readers; Text2Pay mobile payments; hosted payment pages; payment links, buttons and QR codes; customized invoicing; recurring billing; API key integration; ACH bank payments. From the 'Subscriptions unlock all these features at no extra cost' list. Page undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026
Stripe 2.7% + 5¢ per successful in-person transaction for domestic cards (Stripe Terminal, standard pricing). Add 1.5% for international cards and $0.10 per authorization for Tap to Pay (flat rate). Page undated; footer shows '© 2026 Stripe, LLC'. Optional point-to-point encryption adds $0.05 per authorization. 'Custom pricing', with interchange-plus and volume discounts, is offered to businesses with large volume. Curl and WebFetch agree. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 2.9% + 30¢ per successful transaction for domestic cards (Payments, Checkout and Payment Links, standard pricing). Add 0.5% for manually entered cards, 1.5% for international cards and 1% if currency conversion is needed (flat rate). Buy-now-pay-later Klarna payments are 5.99% + 30¢ per transaction. ACH Direct Debit is 0.8% with a $5.00 cap. Accepting payments on Payment Links and Checkout is 'Included at no additional charge' on standard pricing. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Invoicing Starter 0.4% per paid invoice (Invoicing Plus 0.5%), on top of Stripe Payments fees; post-payment invoices 0.4% of the transaction total, capped at $2.00 per invoice. Manually entered cards add 0.5% to the online rate (flat rate). The Invoicing page says it 'has no fixed fees or setup costs, but Stripe Payments pricing will apply'. The $2.00 cap is on the main pricing page. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Stripe says standard pricing has 'no setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees' and no closure fees. Optional add-ons carry monthly fees: a custom domain for payment pages $10 per month; cellular data on a reader $10 per reader per month. From the pricing FAQ 'Do you have setup fees or monthly fees?'. Other products, such as Tax from $90 per month on a 1-year contract, are priced separately. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Stripe Reader M2 $59; Stripe Reader S710 $299; Stripe Reader S700 $299; Stripe Reader T600 $329. Optional cellular data $10 per reader per month. Tap to Pay uses a compatible iPhone or Android phone, with no reader to buy. Prices are in the Terminal section of the pricing page, which also lists select third-party card readers. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Stripe lists US settlement at 2 business days. You can choose daily, weekly, monthly or manual payouts. After your first live payment, the first payout 'typically' takes 7-14 days, depending on industry, country and risk level. Instant Payouts to an eligible debit card or bank account usually arrive within 30 minutes and cost 1.5% of the Instant Payouts volume, minimum 50¢. The US settlement row is in the markdown version of the page (https://docs.stripe.com/payouts.md); the HTML table was collapsed. The Instant Payouts fee is on https://stripe.com/pricing. New accounts are not immediately eligible for Instant Payouts. Docs undated. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 $15.00 per dispute received, plus $15.00 per dispute you respond to manually (that second fee is returned if you win the dispute) (Stripe standard pricing, US). A $15.00 dispute appealed fee and optional Smart Disputes (30% of a won dispute) are also listed. 'In rare cases, network fees also apply.' Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Stripe says a reserve is 'a temporary hold on a portion of a business's funds' to cover disputes and refunds, sized by factors such as industry, payment activity, dispute rate, refund rate and financial stability. It emails the terms, and the status shows on the Dashboard Balance page. Reserves do not stop you accepting payments. Stripe reviews a reserve a few days before it ends and may extend it. Help article read in the built-in browser; undated. The Services Agreement (https://stripe.com/legal/ssa, 'Last modified: September 28, 2026') also lists when Stripe may suspend an account. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 No minimum term is stated. The Stripe Services Agreement says you 'may terminate this Agreement at any time by closing its Stripe Account via the Stripe Dashboard'. Stripe may suspend or end an account on the grounds the agreement lists. Agreement shows 'Last modified: September 28, 2026'. Fees for the period before closing stay payable. Verified · Nov 1, 2026 Online Payments and Checkout, Payment Links, Invoicing, Terminal readers and Tap to Pay for in-person sales, Billing for recurring payments, Link accelerated checkout, and API integrations. From the product sections of the pricing page. Verified · Nov 1, 2026

Questions

How were these processors chosen?

Each sells card processing to US small businesses, publishes its US rates on its own site, and was still on sale on the check date. The page lists them in alphabetical order and does not rank them. Candidates that did not publish rates, or are no longer sold under their own name, were left out.

Where do the rates come from?

Each provider's own pricing, fees, hardware and help pages, in US dollars, on the check date. Each rate says what it covers, such as card type, in person or online, plan and volume. Flat-rate pricing is a set percentage plus a fixed amount. Interchange-plus pricing adds a margin to the card networks' cost, which changes by card, so the page shows the margin only. Rates change often, so check the provider before you sign up.

What does "Not publicly stated" mean?

The provider's pages did not say. It does not mean the answer is no.

Sources

Every fact above links to the page it came from. 33 pages, each with the date we checked it.

Cite this page: All Things Compared, "Small-business payment processors, compared", facts checked Nov 1, 2026. https://allthingscompared.com/small-business-payment-processors/